top of page

Kenya's Faith Story: An intentional seed

Updated: May 16, 2020



Tell us your name and where you're from?

K: Kenya Topete | Grand Terrace, CA What is your faith story, Kenya? What can you tell us about your personal life testimony?


K: Well, I don't know if I have a story. But I can tell you a little bit about my family. I have two sisters and I am the middle child. My parents came in as illegal immigrants; but now they are citizens. As far as any religious background, like most Hispanic families, I was born into a Catholic family, but we didn’t really practice it. We lived in LA and my dad was a carpenter and was great at it. He then got called to do a job in North Carolina and accepted it. So, when I was about 3, we moved from Compton to North Carolina. We were actually doing really good at the time. My parents were working, we had a nice home, cars, we had everything that we needed.

Then, one day, we went from having everything, to having everything stripped away completely. My father suddenly came down with a rare illness. His face started to droop and he was having a hard time seeing and walking straight. But my dad was the kind of dad that would never stop working no matter how he felt so he continued to work. He literally would work with one hand while picking up his eye with the other. One day his boss noticed and forced him to go to the hospital. That is when he found out that he was diagnosed with Myasthenia Gravis and had to undergo surgery. While under surgery, he had some complications. They had to resuscitate him and when he woke up, he lost his will to live. He knew that he would now be placed on disability and he struggled with the idea that he would no longer be able to be the provider in the home and could not be a lead. Additionally, being only 37, his age would affect any disability payouts because he was so young. My mother had to take on this role and started selling cakes on the side to make up for his income and my sisters and I helped her. She was literally living paycheck to paycheck, but this is also where I started to learn my entrepreneurship spirit.

While my father was in the hospital, my mom received a call from her twin sister in California. She was told that her mom (my grandma) fell and was in a coma. My mother didn’t know what to do. She didn't even have money for the flight. Then one day, one of her friends called her up and offered her $500.00 to cover her flight; it was their rent money for the month. They said "Take this. I don't have enough to cover my rent anyway, I would rather you have it to see your mother." My mother was grateful and accepted it and hopped on a flight to see her mother. When she arrived, my grandmother was in a vegetable state. She could not talk, and was not responsive.


While my mother was gone, a man visited my dad in the hospital and asked to pray over him. My father did not know him but allowed him to pray. This interaction then sparked a curiosity in my father to know the Christ that this man knew. At the same time, my mother began praying to God to take care of her mother. My mother and father never really prayed before this time. But yet, they began praying at the same time.

The next day, my mom visited her mother and whispered to her mom: “Mom, if you can hear me, please move your hand.” My grandmother's hand twitched. So, my mom grabbed the doctors to see and the doctors insisted that it was not possible. But God is good, because shortly after, my grandmother walked out of that hospital.

It was then that my mom realized that my family needed to be together and my father agreed. We all moved back to California and I hated it. A friend of my parents told them of this home available in Highgrove and we moved there. It was low rent, but in the hood. Although I was born in LA, I was raised in North Carolina. I did not fit in. I didn't talk like anyone, I didn't think or act like anyone around me. It was different from anything I knew. We lived there for 10 years. However, that is where our journey with God began- in Highgrove.


We hopped from church to church as my dad was checking out different denominations. Until one day, my dad’s friend introduced us to our home church in Riverside and my dad began falling absolutely in love with God. Initially, this newfound love almost caused my parents' marriage to fall apart. They were not on the same page. My dad wanted the whole family to know Christ in the way he did. He was always at church. But my mother was just coming to know Christ and was not there yet so she did not understand. But over time, God called us all: I got baptized and my mom gave her life to Christ and their marriage was renewed.

Looking back, I see that God chose my Father because he was the rock and we followed his lead. Now, I find myself loving the Father like he does.

My grandparents then moved in with us and my mother became their permanent caregiver. We knew we needed a larger home but we only had the income of a caregiver, my jobs at 16 that I could help to contribute, and my dad’s disability' our income was limited. We prayed and prayed and He met us. We got a house in Grand Terrace! My grandmother lived with us 14 yrs- she passed in her sleep in 2016. My grandfather lived with us 16 years, he passed in 2019. My mom was very sad. But I had to remind her that God did what He said that He would do; God completed his promise to my mother and my mother completed her promise to her parents.

He even saved my grandfather. My grandparents were married 70 yrs and it was hard for him to mourn. He then came down with pancreatic cancer. I would put my worship music on for my grandpa and prayed. Right before he passed, a man came to our home and asked my grandfather if he would like to accept Christ as his Lord and Savior. He said “Yes.” I then had peace in my heart in knowing that he is with Christ. Christ ended up saving my whole family. When we were going through all of that: I didn’t know why. But now looking back I say “Wow God, this was your perfect plan. We’re not rich, we don’t have a lot of money, but I am happier today than I have ever been. The peace that we have as a family... that is the trade off and God has been so amazing.


Lastly, remember the man that gave my mother his rent money to get on her flight? My first death claim at my new job was to his son. I was now in a place to help him out and give back to the person that gave to us in a time of need. Everything came full circle. God is so strategic!

Wow that is amazing, Kenya! What is your favorite scripture and why?


K: Jeremiah 29:11:

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

That has been shown in my life! Even though we didn’t understand, he didn’t do it to harm us and my life is so much better.

If there was one nugget of wisdom in your walk and growth in Christ that you would want to leave us with, what would that be?


K: Trust the process. Even if you are in the midst of things, and you can’t see the light. Trust the process that this too shall pass. Even if it doesn’t look like it, it is all a part of His master plan.



Do you have any resources (devotionals, books, studies) that have helped you that you would recommend?


K: The bible for one, and “His Princess: Love Letters from your King” by Sheri Rose Shepherd. I would pray, hold this book in my hand and say “Ok God, you know what I’m going through and I need you to speak to me. Please speak to me through this book.” And He would always speak to me- every time.

Where can we find you online?

Instagram: @rvp_asap Facebook: Kenya Topete Business inquiries: Kenyatopet@primerica.com

 

Takeaway:


Although Kenya was not sure if she had a story, her story is an amazing one because it speaks to the intentionality of God. You can see that from the beginning, God knew this family before they knew Him and was willing to consistently pursue them. How amazing that we have a God that loves us so much that He will pursue...us? I pray that this encourages you this week and reminds you that He has a Master Plan for your life as well. And guess what? You are walking that plan out right now. Even the accidents were never accidents. It is all working together for your good to give you a hope and a future. If you are journaling, take some time to rest and sit on that today.


Prayer:


Lord, we just start this day off in praise today. We thank you that you love us enough to pursue us. How awesome is that you know us before we know ourselves? How amazing that every seed that you have sown in our encounters and our experiences comes together to thread one story: that you simply call us to be yours? We thank you and praise you today for simply being GOOD. In Jesus' name, Amen.


Love you and praying for you always Selah fam!

Love,

Raaya


146 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page