top of page

Cherica's Faith Story: When He calls you to release some things to receive even more.


Hey! Tell us your name and where you are from?


Cherica Junea Bell, I'm from Los Angeles but I've been in San Bernardino for the last 12 years.


What is your Faith Story? What can you tell us about your personal life testimony?


Well, I grew up in the church. I was in church several times a week for various reasons. I love worship and I would say that I have a good relationship with God but my walk with God really became personal last year, when I started to face myself and the things that were happening in my marriage. My pastor spoke something prophetically about relationships in March 2019 that rocked my core. I was convicted deep in my soul. From then until now, the Holy Spirit allowed me to see, experience, and face things regarding my marriage.


My faith was greatly tested because I thought "surely this is not the Holy Spirit telling me to do this, or that; say this or that"...it was weird. I wasn't used to the type of revelation. It was hard. Confusing. Painful. God held me in His hands the entire time. He kept repeating "Just trust me Focus on me. Don't look left, don't look right..just focus on me. I have you. I promise".


From March 2019 to December 2019, I endured great mental and emotional turmoil based on the decisions I felt led to make. I passed out in my home, had to wear a heart monitor, and not to mention completed my graduate degree in August 2019. God is faithful.


On my 30th birthday, in December 2019, I filed for divorce and I launched my business. God is good like that. In the last year and some months, He has been so faithful. I have released and received so much, simultaneously. I have lacked nothing. I have never felt more complete, whole, and at peace.


Thank you so much for your vulnerability. What was your favorite scripture that kept you during this time and why?


Isaiah 55:8- "For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the Lord"

Jer 29:11- "For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the Lord, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end."

Both remind me that God is in complete control. What my human mind can't imagine or figure out, God has already figured out, written, and spoken.


My Godmother also gave me a song last summer that has gotten me through some really dark days and moments..."Psalm 23" by People & Songs


If there was one nugget of wisdom in your walk and growth in Christ that you would want to leave us with, what would that be?


Learn to know what God's voice sounds like for you and trust it. Trust what you hear in your spirit.

Do you have any resources (devotionals, books, studies) that have helped you taht you would recommend?


Letting Go: How to Get Unstuck and Walk in Destiny - Bonita Brisco

To Love and Let Go - Rachel Brathen

Wholeness - Toure Roberts

Braving the Wilderness - Brene Brown

Crushing - T.D. Jakes

Silent Seasons - Heather Lindsey

Don't Settle for Safe - Sarah Jakes Roberts

(I read or listened to all of these books at some point in the last 16 months)


Awesome! Lastly, where can we find you online?


IG: @ChericaJunea

Facebook: Cherica Junea


 

Takeaway:


Like Cherica's story, sometimes, Christ will allow us to walk through experiences that are not meant to bring shame, but to act as a mirror to confront areas that need healing or a makeover. We saw a snapshot of this in John 4 in Jesus' interaction with the Samaritan woman. By vs. 15, the deal had been closed; the Samaritan woman was ready and willing to accept the Father. But Jesus did what most evangelists would never do at this point: He addressed a wounded area. He followed up her acceptance to His invitation by confronting her relationship history. Now, He didn't do this to be cruel. He did this because He knew that until we can acknowledge the hard parts of us, we can never be fully whole. And in Him, His aim is for us to always be fully whole (Colossians 2:10; 1 Thessalonians 5:23).


I hope this story encourages you today. Because in the confrontation is an invitation to trust Him through the healing; a reconstruction. If you are in this space today, know that every reconstruction is a building UP of things. And it begins with a solid foundation.


Prayer:


Lord, again I thank you for every reader of this post today and I pray that they are encouraged through Cherica's testimony. I also thank you for Cherica and pray in agreement as we continue to cover her family, her heart, and her business with your grace and continued abundance. I lift up my brothers and sisters going through their re-construction today. I pray for their strength in trusting you through this journey. I pray that they are edified and surrounded by support. I pray that they are surrounded by wise counsel and that they are comforted in knowing that you are closer than ever with them in this. Lastly, we rejoice and celebrate with them as a new thing in their lives is being done right now. I pray that they are reminded that in you, all things and circumstances are working together for their good as we speak and you have favor in their future. In Jesus' Mighty name, Amen!


Thank you for reading, Selah fam! As always, I hope this encouraged you and encourages you to share with others that may need to hear a word of encouragement today themselves. I am praying for you and if you have a testimony please let me know!


Love you,

R.

213 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page