top of page

Juan's Faith Story: Purposed from the womb


Tell us your name and where you are from? 


My name is Juan Young and I am from Los Angeles, CA.

What is your faith story? What can you tell us about your personal life testimony? 

I was born in Los Angeles to Emma & Juan Sr. When my mom was pregnant, the doctor came to her and told her that there were signs that her son (baby Juan) had a high chance of being born with a very severe mental disorder and would have a low quality of life. My mom decided to move forward with the pregnancy and gave birth to me prematurely. Safe to say, that God's hand has been in my life since I was in the womb. I went on to start walking at 6 months, started school early, skipped a grade, and graduated highschool at 16 years old.  I grew up in church and knew of God but didn't really have a personal connection or relationship, until college. I was out on my own, and I went through some years questioning everything I had been taught; because I wanted to believe it for myself, and not because someone told me to. It was in college that I began to strengthen my relationship with Christ; but it was not until my mom passed in 2010 that I really felt the power of God and saw him move in ways I never thought was possible. God kept me. He sustained me. He provided for me. He comforted me. From that moment on I knew God cared for me, and that he would always be there. 

What is your favorite scripture and why? 


My favorite verse is Isaiah 43:2.

When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze.

This scripture speaks to me because it is a reminder that there will be waters, raging waters at that, and I will have to face them, but God will be with me every step. It's a reminder that there may be a point where everything around me is burning, but I won't be consumed by the fire. It's reassuring that God won't forget about me in the toughest of times and the ebbs and flows of life.

If there was one nugget of wisdom in your walk and growth in Christ that you would want to leave us with, what would that be? 

You can only trust a faith that has been tested. There will come a time in life when it won't be just a drill, but the real thing and everything that you say you believe will be challenged and at THAT point will your faith truly be tested. After that moment, you will have a better evaluation of your spiritual maturity. 

Do you have any resources (devotionals, books, studies) that have helped you that you would recommend? 

One thing that has helped me is committing to being more involved at my local church. I think the commitment to serving others helps our hearts to be focused on God, which in turn helps to shift our perspectives. Also, if you are in a relationship, "Hold me Tight" Dr. Sue Johnson, will change your life! 


Thank you Juan! Where can we find you online?


Instagram: @juanyoungjr @marriagisforadults @thefailtogrowpodcast

@melanence


 

Takeaway:


Juan's story reminds us that we are walking out a purpose that was already predetined for us. I hope this truth resonates with you: no matter what things may look like, no matter what odds may be against you, you were created for a reason that extends beyond your hurdles. And although these hurdles can be expected, we serve a God that is in it with us, through every season in life.


Prayer:


Today I simply pray that we can hold on to this promise: that God, you will be in the highs, and God you are also there with us in the lows, and you are sustaining us and growing us each step along the way. I pray that each reader is reminded that they are created for purpose on purpose by YOU Lord and they are encouraged to walk in that.


In Jesus' Name, Amen!


15 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page